GHMC Mayor Election by Corporators on February 11, 2016

GHMC Mayor Election by Corporators on February 11, 2016.. The elected corporators will elect Mayor on February 11, 2016.

A total of 1,333 candidates remained in the fray for the upcoming Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) elections to be held on February 2. Most of the hopefuls from various parties filed their nominations withdrew on 21 January.

After the results are declared on February 5, the directly elected corporators and ex-officio members will elect the mayor and deputy mayor on February 11. They will be notified about the mayor election on February 7. The mayor post is reserved for BCs while deputy mayor is open. In the eventuality of postponement of the election, it will be held on the next day.

A corporator selected by the party that secures majority of divisions will be elected as mayor and if the party has any understanding with any other friendly party, the deputy mayor post will be given to that party. The party that secures 75 divisions or more will grab the mayor post.

With 28 candidates in the fray, Jangammet remains the division with longest list of contestants while Chandanagar has only four candidates going for the final battle.

Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) and Congress are contesting for all 150 divisions while TDP-BJP combine has put up candidates in 96 and 64 seats respectively. The MIM is contesting in 60 divisions and no where the party has faced any rebels. Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), CPI and CPM fielded their nominees in 56, 21 and 22 divisions respectively. Other parties including YSR Congress Party have their candidates in 49 places.

636 independent candidates did not withdraw their nominations.

Similar articles

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *